Are You Physically Spiritually Fit?

1Co 6:19) Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit in you, whom you have of God? And you are not your own,

(1Co 6:20) for you are bought with a price. Therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.

Anyone who knows me or reads my blogs knows that I walk. Walking for me is a time of fellowship with my creator also a time of exercise. Sometimes I may walk three times a day. After 18 years fighting Fibromyalgia I’m actually at my best when I’m walking. Sitting for me as much as I’m on the computer is actually when I’m at my worst. When I worked in the Music Industry I sat behind the wheel of one car or another for hours as I travelled. When Fibromyalgia struck me it hit me worst in all of the muscles that one uses when we sit. Therefore sitting for me is not my best position. When Fibromyalgia first hit me the most I could walk was about two blocks. However I kept at it some days I did not walk at all other days I’d at least get a few blocks in. Eventually those blocks became miles and now I can walk, I can walk, I can walk.

“A 2006 Purdue study found that the fundamental Christians are by far the heaviest of all religious groups led by the Baptists with a 30% obesity rate compared with Jews at 1%, Buddhists and Hindus at 0.7%. Similarly, a 2011 Northwestern University study tracking 3,433 men and women for 18 years found that young adults who attend church or a bible study once a week are 50% more likely to be obese. The Pawtucket Heart Health Program found that people who attended church were more likely than non-church members to be 20 percent overweight and have higher cholesterol and blood pressure numbers. Finally, a 2001 Pulpit and Pew study of 2,500 clergy found that 76% were overweight or obese compared to 61% of the general population at the time of the study” All of this according to an article I found. http://winteryknight.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/obesity-in-christian-churches-what-happened-to-the-sin-of-gluttony/

In our scripture text we find that our bodies really are not our own. They are the temple of the Holy Spirit. It instructs us to glorify God in our bodies as well as our spirit. One way we can glorify god physically is by taking good physical care of our bodies. We can glorify God in our spirit by feeding our spirit man constantly with the Word of God.

We live in a world of extremes and excess on one hand you’ll find people who talk God and Christianity but they are physically out of shape. On the other hand you’ll find people who train their bodies religiously but don’t daily read the word of God. What all of us should seek in our lives is balance. Let me say that again what all of us should seek in our lives is balance. Psalms 139:14 I will praise You; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are marvelous and my soul knows it very well. You are a marvelous work of God and it’s up to you, how you take care of what God created. When we study scripture common sense tells us that there is no way that Jesus was out of shape. He literally walked from city to city and town to town. From time to time he did travel by boat. However it appears that most of the time he walked. We also get glimpses into his diet which appeared to include fish and whole grains. Our diets determine in a major way how much strength and energy we have. Yet when attending to the needs of the whole person a good healthy diet along with a daily exercise routine does very little if anything at all for our spirits. We need a steady diet of God’s word to help us and guide us throughout this life. (Psalms 119:105)  NUN: Your Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.

We all as I’ve already stated need balance, personally there are areas that I can improve on. I could use a personal trainer to help me tone up certain areas of my body. I can drastically cut down on sweets and junk food. I’m eating more vegetables but I can do better. While I read God’s word daily I can take on more weight in that area of my life. Just as the body builder increases the amount of weight they lift. I can increase my time of devotion and study. In weight lifting sometimes there is a person called a spotter. This person is there to help the individual who is lifting. In the event the lifter takes on more than they can handle or lift. The spotter can help prevent possible injury by helping the person lifting balance or hold the weight. When it comes to studying God’s word we can use a spotter. A spotter can come in the form of Bible Study or a good friend or relative who is knowledgeable in the Word that can help you understand what you are reading or studying. I encourage everyone who reads this to make every effort possible to “Get Fit” not only physically but spiritually find a trainer to tune-up that body and find a trainer to tune-up that spirit take the time and spend some quality time working on your body as well as your spirit. Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.

 http://www.8thday.us

http://www.inetv8.net

Okay here’s some work out Music

 

Leave a Reply

