When You’re in Life’s Holding Pattern

(Job 30:20) I cried to You, and You did not hear me; I stood up, and You did not consider me. (Job 30:25) Did I not weep for him whose day was hard; and my soul grieved for the poor? (Job 30:26) When I looked for good, then evil came; and when I waited for light, then darkness came.
A holding pattern is usually a circular pattern flown by aircraft awaiting clearance to land at an airport. It is also described as a state of waiting or delay; a static situation. For the past 18 years I’ve been battling Fibromyalgia I walk daily. During my walks I pray, think, and of course walk. It is during these times that I seek fellowship with God when I’m praying. Always mindful that praying is not all about me giving God my laundry list of things that I’d like him to do for me. I try my best to use that time to focus on the mission that God has given me to fulfill. It’s not always easy to stay focused because life is often filled with problems, situations, and just stuff. However I’ve often said that nothing catches God by surprise and he knows what lies ahead for us and if we don’t panic things will work out just fine.

Recently I’ve personally felt as if God has me in a holding pattern. I’ve had some really awesome ideas and plans yet things seem to moving at a snail’s pace if they’re moving at all. After I walk daily when I get home I usually open up eSword on the computer (http://www.e-sword.net/) to see what my devotional reading is for the day. While meditating on what I’d write in reference to life’s holding patterns. I thought to myself I wonder what today’s devotional reading is going to be? I hope it’s encouraging. I open up eSword on the computer and the random scripture for the day was Job chapter 30. I think to myself well this is not going to be to encouraging. So I read the chapter and come across the scripture text above which actually falls in line when our lives tend to be stagnant, motionless, or in a holding pattern. In Job chapter 29 the previous chapter (Job 29:1) And Job continued the lifting up of his speech, and said, (Job 29:2) Oh that I were as in months past, as in the days when God watched over me; (Job 29:3) when His lamp shone on my head; I walked through darkness by His light; (Job 29:4) as I was in the days of my harvest, when the secret of God was on my tent; (Job 29:5) when the Almighty was yet with me, and my children were around me; (Job 29:12) For I delivered the poor who cried for help, and the fatherless who had none to help him.(Job 29:13) The blessing of the perishing came on me; and I caused the widow’s heart to sing. (Job 29:14) I put on righteousness, and it clothed me; my judgment was like a robe and a diadem. (Job 29:15) I was eyes to the blind and feet to the lame. (Job 29:16) I was a father to the poor; and the cause which I did not know, I searched out.

By anyone’s standards Job appeared to have been a good man who did right by all. He was well respected and helped those who were less fortunate. Yet trouble befalls him and he loses everything that he had including his children. When we look at our scripture text he’s in trouble. He had called on the lord but felt that God had not heard his pleas because his situation was unchanged. He says (Job 30:20) I cried to You, and You did not hear me; I stood up, and You did not consider me. How often do we feel that God has not heard our prayers? Especially when things don’t change and we just remain in limbo. Job goes on to say (Job 30:25) Did I not weep for him whose day was hard; and my soul grieved for the poor? Job was not self-centered he had a genuine concerned for others. He has done all that he knew to do; he’d prayed and sought God yet. (Job 30:26) When I looked for good, then evil came; and when I waited for light, then darkness came. He’s in a tough spot here and often the same can be said for you and me. There are times when trouble appears to be the only companion that we have.

No matter what trial or situation we face there is always God’s Grace and Mercy readily available to us. He wants to bless us and he will in and at the appropriate time. So what did Job do? Well he had already made his proclamation earlier (Job 14:14) If a man die, shall he live again? all the days of my appointed time will I wait, till my change come(KJV). In Isaiah we find these words (Isa 40:31) But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint (KJV). No matter how dark it appears to be hang in there. Trouble won’t last always. There is a day and time appointed by God for your troubles and problems to end!!!

Father in heaven we Thank You for your Grace and Your Mercy there are people everywhere whose lives appear to be on hold. They have problems be they financial, marital, emotional, physical, or psychological. Help us oh Lord to patiently wait on you because you love us. You love us so much that you sent your son to pay for all of us a debt that we couldn’t pay. Because of his obedience and the completed work of Calvary we’re assured that trouble won’t last always. We thank you for this fact and we praise you not only now but through countless generations. In Jesus name we pray Amen and Amen. Prayerfully we’ll go much deeper on this topic in our soon to come book Walking in the Rain II Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.
http://www.8thday.us
http://www.inetv8.net
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D1APX58 Walking In The Rain

Leave a Reply

