A Time for Healing

(2Ch 7:14) if My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves and pray, and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

I come to say to you this afternoon, however difficult the moment, however frustrating the hour, it will not be long, because “truth crushed to earth will rise again. “How long? Not long, because “no lie can live forever. “How long? Not long, because “you shall reap what you sow. “How long? Not long: Truth forever on the scaffold, Wrong forever on the throne, Yet that scaffold sways the future, And, behind the dim unknown, Standeth God within the shadow, Keeping watch above his own. We can apply these words from the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. to what is going on in our country today. The Trayvon Martin case has polarized this country causing harsh feelings and disagreements even in some families throughout our country. However the verdict is in and as a nation we must seize this opportunity to have dialogue amongst each other. We must do all that we can to see that such a horrible tragedy is never repeated.

There are no winners in this situation the Martin family will never in this life hear the voice of their beloved. At the same time George Zimmerman’s life will never be the same as some are saying he was found not guilty. However that does not mean he was found innocent. It is time for us as a nation to have a real discussion about guns. Are they really the best means of self-protection? We need to honestly examine our judicial system is it really color blind or is there bias depending on where any given case is held? I submit to you what if juries had to judge cases where there are no visuals provided. You have no idea what the victim looked like or the defendant. You are only provided written accounts of what happened by both sides from testimony to evidence. I wonder what the verdict would have been if this case were tried in such a manner? Would George Zimmerman still be free? Or would those same jurors have found him guilty?

There was a time in my life when I racially profiled young African American males myself. I an African American bought into the image and the stereotype of young African American males. I was apprehensive whenever I encountered them wondering if they might intend to harm or rob me. I was guilty as sin I’m sure that when I encountered them they sensed it. Thankfully God convicted me of it and it was amazing. After I allowed God to take away my bias now when I encounter young African American males that some would racially profile. Most of the time the results are different in many cases those young men that to some would appear suspicious. Many times as I approach these young men they will more than not say “How are you doing today sir” or something along those lines.
God knows the truth as to the guilt or innocence of George Zimmerman and even from our own judicial system things may still happen. There may be more to come especially with the possibility of federal civil rights charges forth coming. Prayer as always is in order and all of us should humbly seek God on behalf of all families and parties involved in this tragic case. We should pray for our judicial system our political leaders and our nation as a whole. We need to pray that all life is valued and protected. How can we as Christians be adamantly against abortion but passive when the life of an unarmed African American teenager is senselessly gunned down for no apparent reason? While watching CNN a former defense attorney from New York stated that as rule in New York any time someone brought a gun to a fistfight they were in most cases charged and found guilty of manslaughter.

I was asked by someone on Facebook what if your son were George Zimmerman and I discussed this with my one and only son. I told him if this were the case I would expect that if you do the crime you do the time. I told him to always man up to his mistakes and take responsibility for them and he agreed with me. As a society we must hold everyone accountable for their actions. How does Michael Vick serve time for dog fighting and Plaxico Burress serve time for shooting himself and yet George Zimmerman kills an unarmed teenager and walks free. It is time to pray but it is also time to act get involved with your neighborhood watch clubs. To this day I believe that someone saw everything that transpired between Trayvon Martin and George Zimmerman but to date has remained silent. If such a person had come forward it would have made a huge difference in this trial.

It is also time for action in the African American community throughout our communities across this nation because we tolerate black on black crime. It is time to talk with our sons, daughters, nieces, nephews, cousins, and friends. This is unacceptable because the price of our freedom was way too high!!! Much blood was shed over the years in order that we might live anywhere we choose in this country or marry and love who we choose. In our community especially, all life must be valued enough is enough!!! I challenge every African American leader out there to start rallies in our communities to stop the violence and the killings. If I had the money I’d produce a movie for our young people because many of them may have an idea but they really don’t understand the price and the cost of our freedom. Be Encouraged, Blessed and Pray for Peace Minister Mike.

One response to “A Time for Healing

Leave a Reply

