Cats & Dogs

(Num 14:27) How long shall I bear with this evil congregation, which murmurs against Me? I have heard the murmurings of the sons of Israel which they murmur against Me.
(Num 11:1) And the people were evil, as those complaining in the ears of Jehovah. And Jehovah heard, and His anger was kindled. And the fire of Jehovah burned among them and devoured in the outermost parts of the camp.
I’m not a big time animal person but we do have a cat and a dog. We had the cat for years and it did nothing but eat crap and sleep. Things changed after the dog arrived, my wife would give the dog some human food and eventually the cat wanted some to. Well human food was not good for the cat so I’d by treats and canned cat food for the cat. No matter what I did the cat would just whine. Whine, whine, and whine even when it would see that I was preparing it food. Remember I’m not an animal type person so this would drive me up the wall.

On the other hand the dog would often just look on hoping that I shared some food with it but never make a sound if I didn’t. Granted everyone else in the house could share food with the dog and I might go in the room close the door and eat my dinner in solitude. Yet whenever I leave the house that same dog will rush to the door and greet me when I return whether I had given it anything to eat that day or not. Whenever the dog comes to greet me that cat will show up and start whining. The dog has been gone overnight and I haven’t seen the cat since the dog has been gone no whining no nothing.

When it comes to your life are you like the cat or the dog? If a relative, friend, or neighbor gets a new car are you happy for them? Do you rejoice and celebrate with them? Or do you complain even if someone repairs your car for free. You complain because it’s old and doesn’t look like the newer model cars. In our scripture the children of Israel complained so much so that it angered God. After all of the miracles God had performed they totally forgot, they started complaining against the same God that had parted the Red Sea, allowing them to walk across on dry land. After all of the miracles, signs, and wonders he had performed back in Egypt they just totally forgot. Spies were sent out to view the Promised Land and out of twelve only two give a positive report.

I don’t know about you but I’ve been guilty, there are times that I’ve forgotten what God has done in the past. I’ve worried, I’ve fretted, and yes I’ve complained. If we believe God’s word we know that whatever we face in life it doesn’t catch him by surprise and he always provides a solution or a path for escape. Just like the little dog that greets me whether I do anything for her or not. We need to always Praise and Thank God that things are as well as they are and on the worst of days he’s still worthy of our Praise. Don’t let the troubles or problems of life get you down to the point that you are constantly murmuring and complaining. God’s been too good to all of us even on our worst days. As I’m sharing this with you I’m reminding myself that God’s Mercy endures forever. He loves us and wants nothing but the best for us I often fondly quote my late aunt’s favorite verse. Everyone affectionately called her “Dear” because she was a dear soul (Pro 10:22) The blessing of Jehovah itself makes rich, and He adds no sorrow with it. Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.

Leave a Reply

