Help Me Somebody

You_Can_Help
(Luke 10:33)  But a certain traveling Samaritan came upon him, and seeing him, he was filled with pity. (Luke 10:34)  And coming near, he bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine, and set him on his own animal and brought him to an inn, and took care of him.

In Luke chapter 10 verses 30 through 36 we find what is commonly known as the parable of The Good Samaritan. Growing up I often heard this story whether in Sunday School or being preached from the pulpit. Rarely if ever do I hear or see this being taught these days when in fact this is exactly what is needed. We live in a society where people really don’t care for one another as they used. Growing up I was taught that you care for and help others and I saw this scripture being lived out through the lives of people who I knew during my childhood days.

Once I helped a young lady and her response to me was “Why are you helping me, no one ever helps me”? She was a very intelligent and nice young lady yet she was not accustomed to people helping her and I thought how sad. What have we become as a society? Whenever there is a tragedy we see the good that comes out when people help each other. Helping should be something that we do every day not just during times of tragedy. In this country there should be no debate when it comes to healthcare or affordable and decent housing no one should be satisfied when there are people who lack adequate healthcare or housing.

I saw on TV one time where a pastor cancelled all of the church’s weekly activities for the whole summer. He told the members that they were going to spend the whole summer helping throughout the community and they did. They mowed lawns for senior citizens, they painted, they mended fences whatever was needed consequently that church grew. In some areas we find churches three and four deep in a block. Just think of the impact of some of the neighborhoods in our cities if churches linked together and formed their own Urban Renewal? What if they pooled their resources and built neighborhood healthcare clinics not just one church but 50 churches pooling their resources and building a clinic.

As an individual what are you doing? Who are you helping? It’s not saying a lot when all you do is help family and friends, however these days for some that’s better than the norm. Jesus said (Mat 25:45)  Then He shall answer them, saying, Truly I say to you, Inasmuch as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to Me. God wants us to help each other and it is so important that we do just that help one another. Because every time I help someone else I’m actually helping myself Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.

Leave a Reply

