So Where Was God?

(Gen 6:11) The earth also was corrupt before God, and the earth was filled with violence.
I am sure there are some asking as always after any tragedy. Where was God during the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting? I pondered this question myself while thinking about the senseless killing of small innocent children. Looking at our scripture posted above God deplores violence and it is one of the reasons that he destroyed the earth the first time. It is also one of the reasons that he will do so again.

However as I thought more on the rash of violence that not only plaques our country but the entire world one thing occurred to me. God never created a gun, or a knife, or even a baseball bat. God created a world that was perfect and placed man in it to rule it and have dominion over it. He provided mankind with everything that was needed for their survival and to live a healthy, happy, and prosperous life. Since man has made the tools that are used to cause the tragedy’s such as that of Sandy Hook. It is up to us to find the solutions. We need to honestly look at our gun laws and gun owners need to honestly look at what is practical as far as gun ownership. I’ve read several posts where people say that the second amendment allows for citizens to own guns in order to protect them from a corrupt government; I don’t buy that if that were the case people should invest in tanks, fighter planes, and aircraft careers.

As always prayer is in order and needed we need to also pray that God will move on the hearts of the leaders in this country. At the same time it’s time for us to speak up and speak out. America’s gun control laws are the loosest in the developed world and its rate of gun-related homicide is the highest. Of the world’s 23 “rich” countries, the U.S. gun-related murder rate is almost 20 times that of the other 22. With almost one privately owned firearm per person, America’s ownership rate is the highest in the world; tribal-conflict-torn Yemen is ranked second, with a rate about half of America’s. This information is from a July 23, 2012 article written by Max Fisher published in The Atlantic. It is high time America joins the rest of the civilized world and eliminates ownership of certain types of fire arms. Just as other nations did there should be a period of amnesty for people to turn in arms that will be banned then mandatory jail time for those who continue to own them. This is not the 1700’s or the 1800’s we now live in the 21st Century and or Gun Laws should reflect this fact.

6 responses to “So Where Was God?

  1. I am surprised a minister would blame this tragedy on guns and not the morale decay of an American society that has rejected its creator, God. Have you read the Old Testament? God told the Israelites to kill all men, women, and children of the Promised Land as they claimed that land. The illegal use of guns are simply the symptom of our rejection of God.

    • The biggest rejection of God is in our churches many of our churches today do not reflect the church of 20, 30, 40, years ago. John Wesley wouldn’t recognize some of our churches today neither would Dwight L. Moody. I won’t even deal with your comment on the Old Testament what I will say is what a friend of mine often says when it comes to the study of scripture Context is King. Jesus was one of the Greatest if not the Greatest Object teacher to ever walk this earth. He mastered the ability to say something before hand in order to draw attention to a latter event.

      (Luke 22:36) Then said he unto them, But now, he that hath a purse, let him take it, and likewise his scrip: and he that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one.
      (Luke 22:37) For I say unto you, that this that is written must yet be accomplished in me, And he was reckoned among the transgressors: for the things concerning me have an end.
      (Luke 22:38) And they said, Lord, behold, here are two swords. And he said unto them, It is enough. Jesus said all of this knowing exactly what was about to happen and what he was about to do. (Matthew 26:51) And, behold, one of them which were with Jesus stretched out his hand, and drew his sword, and struck a servant of the high priest’s, and smote off his ear.
      (Matthew 26:52) Then said Jesus unto him, Put up again thy sword into his place: for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword. (Matthew 26:53) Thinkest thou that I cannot now pray to my Father, and he shall presently give me more than twelve legions of angels?

      (Mic 4:3) And he shall judge among many people, and rebuke strong nations afar off; and they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruninghooks: nation shall not lift up a sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more. We are living in the season of The Lord’s Return and this is where things are headed. As a true believer and follower of The Lord I don’t own any weapons because I as The Apostle Paul did, I understand my flesh that I often war against. If I had a gun I’d use it and there is always that chance that it could be used in anger or for revenge. Therefore I don’t own any and I’m crazy enough to believe that those twelve legions of angels are available to me because of whose I am. We talk about takling prayer out of our schools wherever a child of God is Jesus is there with them.

      My wife and were separated for a while and my youngest daughter came to visit me over my mom’s where I was staying at the time. It became late and she lives out of town I was very concerned about her going back so late. As she smiled and headed to her car in probably a nano second I saw something going with her I knew it was an angel never told her about it. i cannot give you any kind of description of what I saw because it was so quick. Angels were present and on hand last week God did not want anyone in that building to perish. As a society we have to accept the responsibility for creating an environment for such tragedies to happen. Collectively it is up to all of us to do something about it.

  2. So a minister is saying that we should pray for God to move in the minds of lawmakers. Like we haven’t already been doing that in churches all around the country? The main thrust of the piece written above is that God is exercising a hands-off policy in our world. We made the mess, it’s up to us to fix it. Sorry but this is woefully lacking as far as theology goes…. Does the author really believe that the answer to his own question(so where was God) is “He was there but just watching”?

    • From the very beginning in the Garden of Eden mankind has shown a degree of arrogance or indifference. In Genesis 3 when Adam confronted with the fact that he disobeyed God what was his response? (Gen 3:12) And the man said, The woman whom thou gavest to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I did eat. This is where it all started Adam was given dominion over everything he was in charge it was his responsibility to keep and obey God’s Law. He had freedom to anything and everything just don’t eat the fruit from one tree that’s it.
      Adam could have probably stopped Eve from eating the fruit he was in charge Eve was created to help him yet as they say these days he threw her under the bus. He knew God but he really didn’t know him because Grace and Mercy were on hand waiting to step in. If he had just not eaten the fruit himself he could have been an advocate for his wife because Grace and Mercy were on deck waiting to step in.

      As a society we all have to assume responsibility for creating and tolerating an environment that foster’s such tragic events. Semi Automatic weapons aren’t created for hunting or for self protection for that matter. Such weapons as many weapons that are so easily accessible in our society these weapons are designed and made solely for killing. They are weapons of war not weapons of protection. I do not believe that God inspires anyone to create weapons that can destroy lives in seconds. We tend to forget why God destroyed the earth the first time (Gen 6:5) And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. (Gen 6:6) And it repented the LORD that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart.
      (Gen 6:11) The earth also was corrupt before God, and the earth was filled with violence.
      (Gen 6:12) And God looked upon the earth, and, behold, it was corrupt; for all flesh had corrupted his way upon the earth.(Gen 6:13) And God said unto Noah, The end of all flesh is come before me; for the earth is filled with violence through them; and, behold, I will destroy them with the earth. God is not sitting back watching he’s about to wind things up. Violence on TV, in the Movies, in our homes, in video games, shooting in schools, churches, malls, places of work. I’m sure that he’s about had enough and will be winding things up much sooner than most think.

  3. I stopped reading when you started blaming me (a gun owner) for the sandy hook massacre. The real question is why does god create stupid people like you. We have an Islamic enemy that has openly vowed to massacre as many American children in their schools as possible….but you in your pride and stupidity want to make children as vulnerable to this enemy as possible. No the government isnt watching. There are 39 terror training camps in the US and an unknown number of undocumented immigrants who MIGHT be from the Islamic world in an unknown number of cases….but we cant know because they are undocumented. Damn you! Damn you to hell for putting our children at risk. You are the reason Sandy hook happened. When Lanza entered those kids were as good as dead because pacifistd refused to put armed cops in schools. Damn you!

    • I have a right to my opinion you have a right to yours. My GOD is my protector I do not look to guns or men for my protection. When I was young a young man told me all of the things that he was going to do to me when he came back from vacation. While on vacation he fell off a horse and died while on vacation. (Heb 10:30) For we know Him who has said, “Vengeance belongs to Me, I will repay, says the Lord.” And again, “The Lord shall judge His people.”
      (Heb 10:31) It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God. I had nothing to do with Sandy Hook and have no problem with rational armed police protecting our children.

Leave a Reply

