It’s Not About You!!!

(Philippians 2:3)  Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than themselves (MKJV).

(Philippians 2:3)  Don’t be jealous or proud, but be humble and consider others more important than yourselves (CEV).

(Philippians 2:4)  Do not let each man look upon his own things, but each man also on the things of others (MKJV).

(Philippians 2:4)  Care about them as much as you care about yourselves (CEV).

 (Philippians 2:5) and think the same way that Christ Jesus thought: (CEV)

 We live in a very self-centered society, one where the I or the me, comes before the us or the we.  Each of us on a regular if not daily basis we are presented with opportunities to help others. How many times has someone called or approached you and needed help. Your response was I would but I need to do such and such. Sometimes there is really a pressing need that needs to be taken care of and we can’t do but so much in any given day. However there are times when you can put something off or not purchase something until later. There are times when you can put aside your agenda and take the time to help someone who God has sent your way for you to not only help but be a blessing to.

 Minister Todd Hostetler and I often have conversations that result in us encouraging each other by mentioning the fact that. If you have a need that best way to get your need met is to find someone that you can help. Often when faced with financial problems we feel that there is nothing we can do for others because we are broke. This is so wrong!!! Your presence can mean so much more than money. Sometimes a phone call or visit from you can mean more than any monetary gift. The very purpose of Christ coming into this world was for others not himself. Scripture tells us (Rom 5:8) But God commends His love toward us in that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us.

 This is a lesson that I am learning myself.  It is not about me or what I need to do. On any given day at any given time my agenda must and should give way to the assignment that God presents me with at any given time.  I often tell the story of how one day I was really frustrated because I needed money to pay a bill I believe it was only $30.00. I was so upset because I did not have a measly $30.00. Any time any of us get into this type of situation and train of thought we disappoint God because if we are living right than he promises to supply our every need. That being said I’m upset, disgusted, depressed you name it. I can’t pay a measly $30.00 bill. Anyway my nephew calls and asks me for a ride somewhere. I had gas in the minivan so I decided to give him a ride. I open the door step out to the driveway and laying in the drive way is a $50.00 bill, need I say more. Remember it’s not about you what you need, what you need to do even your goals. We must live our lives being flexible always knowing and realizing that others may need our help. Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.

Leave a Reply

