Only God Is Worthy

(Isa 6:1)  In the year that King Uzziah died I then saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lifted up, and His train filled the temple. (Isa 6:5)  Then I said, Woe is me! For I am undone; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, Jehovah of Hosts.

This year has started out really fast for me I’ve been extremely busy. People who know me know that my time is spent in some form of ministry or helping others. I’m working on finishing two different books but words and time to write them have not come. However I recently had a dream in the dream there were a lot of young people including my children. They were all trying to get close to celebrities such as Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant. They all wanted to be seen and noticed. While the young people were doing their thing I was lead to a room full of pianos and as I attempted to play each one I kept looking for one that would produce the quality and sound that I was looking for. When I found one the words to a song came to me. You alone are worthy, you alone are worthy, you alone are worthy of the highest praise.  When I returned to the young people they had all been separated but were using their cell phones to reconnect with each other. They were so thankful that they all had cell phones.

Now some of you, who know me, know that I study Biblical Numerics which is the study of numbers and their biblical significance. This year started off 01/01/11 which is 1111. According to Biblical numerics the number represents disorder and judgment. (Isa 29:13)  And Jehovah said, Because this people draw near Me with their mouth, and with their lips honor Me, but have removed their heart far from Me, and their fear toward Me is taught by the command of men; (Isa 29:14)  therefore, behold, I will go on doing among this people, a wonder, even a wonder. For the wisdom of their wise ones shall perish, and the understanding of their intelligent ones shall be hidden. (1Pe 4:17)  For the time has come for the judgment to begin from the house of God. And if it first begins from us, what will be the end of those disobeying the gospel of God? (1Pe 4:18)  And if the righteous one is scarcely saved, where shall the ungodly and the sinner appear?

We live in a society that even amongst Christians often God is last on our lists if we make time for him at all.  I have been so busy this year that my devotional time has been virtually nonexistent. Our society is sick and in serious need of healing we often say and often quote it.  (2Ch 7:14)  if My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves and pray, and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

However we don’t mean it and we don’t do it. We never humble ourselves as a people of God before God.  Many of us as Christians are so busy doing church that we forget to be the church. Our nation and our society is sick.  Just as in my dream we are infested with hero worship of celebrities some of our leading ministers have gained celebrity status. In our text Uzziah was a great king and it is no mistake that Isaiah has his vision during the year of his death.  Look at the names that get our attention today, Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Lebron James, Lady Gaga, Sarah Palin, Barack Obama, Joel Olsteen, T.D. Jakes, Paula White and the list goes on.  None of these people can deliver us from society’s ills.

As the saints of my youth would say God is High and Holy and he said (Exodus 20:3) Thou shalt have no other gods before me.  As a nation, a people, and a church many of us have lost our way. I have been guilty of not putting first things first as I stated my devotional time has been nonexistent this year. God is High and Holy and he alone is worthy of the highest praise.  If there is to be healing in this land then it is up to us to individually and collectively spend time seeking the face of God. We must spend quality time in both Prayer and Praise.  (1Pe 3:12)  For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and His ears open to their prayers. But the Lord’s face is against those who do evil.  (James 5:16)  Confess faults to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous one avails much.

I know that times are rough but look at what the psalmists had to say.  (Psalms 56:4)  In God I will praise His Word; in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do to me. (Psalms 54:6)  I will freely sacrifice to You; I will praise Your name, O Jehovah, for it is good. (Psalms 63:3)  Because Your loving-kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise You. (Psalms 63:4)  So I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name. (Psalms 63:5)  My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise You with joyful lips, (Psalms 22:26) The meek shall eat and be satisfied; those who seek Jehovah shall praise Him; your heart shall live forever. (Psalms 22:27)  All the ends of the world shall remember and turn to Jehovah; and all the families of the nations shall worship before You.

When we study the life of David even with his short comings there were two things he did well. He could Pray and he could Praise !!! His praise was radical and that’s what’s needed today. There are too many distractions, too much stuff to help us lose focus. (Isa 42:8)  I am Jehovah; that is My name; and My glory I will not give to another, nor My praise to graven images. God will never accept being in second place.

We must remember to put him first in all things, he should never be an afterthought and if things are going to get better it is going to take some fervent praying and some radical praise both as individuals and congregations. It’s time to take it to another level. As the people of God we’ve got to go hard the time for playing church is over. It’s time to seek God as we’ve never done before. Fervent prayer, radical praise intense worship, we’ve always said it during tough times. (2Ch 7:14)  if My people, who are called by My name, shall humble themselves and pray, and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land. It’s time for action. God is waiting on his people, it makes no difference what the politicians, wall street, or anyone else says or does. When we HUMBLY come together admitting that we’ve messed up and come up short. When we as the people of God truly in all humility seek his face then healing of our great country is promised. However if we continue with business as usual especially in the church then judgment is for certain.  Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.
http://www.8thday.us

One response to “Only God Is Worthy

  1. Good morning Bro. Mike,
    I really enjoyed the inspirational words of God that you shared. I don’t get on my computer everyday, however I read the things I think make a difference or encourage a positive mindset. I thank God for you and your ministry of a servants heart. You and your family are in my prayers. continue to let God use you. Amen

Leave a Reply

