I Have Issues #4 (Thoughts, Feelings, & Emotions)

(Psalms 139:23) Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my thoughts,

(Psalms 139:24) and see if any wicked way is in me; and lead me in the way everlasting.

All of us have issues whether we want to admit it or not. However we should not let our short comings define us or influence who we are as individuals. Doing wrong can be so much easier at times then doing what is right especially in a world that is on a collision course towards an end and judgment. Paul says (Rom 7:18) For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) dwells no good thing. For to will is present with me, but how to perform that which is good I do not find.(Rom 7:19) For I do not do the good that I desire; but the evil which I do not will, that I do.(Rom 7:20) But if I do what I do not desire, it is no more I working it out, but sin dwelling in me.

It can actually be said that in our flesh doing the wrong thing may actually be what comes naturally. Satan has been at it for a very long time and often how he attacks us is through our thoughts, feelings, and emotions we often fail to realize that it is him influencing us and this causes us to fall. People often say well that’s the way I am or I was born this way. Who we really are actually depends on who we are listening to. Our flesh is always at war with our spirit. As Paul stated in our flesh dwells no good thing. The Holy Spirit brings about all of the good that is ever accomplished by us. Because if it is left up to us many times we will do as Paul stated we will do the evil that we actually don’t want to do.

Satan has access to our thoughts, feelings, and emotions, personally I can remember times in my life when I really was not myself. I was doing things totally out of character, things that I normally would not do. This can happen when we let our guard down, satan can enter our thoughts causing us to entertain things that he wants us to act on. The problem is not the thought, the problem is when we don’t get rid of it. As I stated satan has been at it a long time he can tell by our actions when he is getting through. He’ll start with something small just a feeling or a thought then he’ll see if you’ll act on it. He’ll tell you nobody is around or nobody will know. But it’s all a lie because first of all he or one of his demons are there and they’ll know that you gave in. Once you give in they’ll come at you with more because they don’t want to see you slip they want you to fall.

We don’t have to be satisfied with our sinful state, we don’t have to continue on being a slave to thoughts, feelings, emotions, and habits. We don’t have to continue to live in misery, we can overcome ourselves. Because often we are our own worst enemy, as we read Romans 7 and 8 Paul clearly lays it out. In our flesh we can’t make it even on our best days we still fall short. Yet as we come to the end of Romans 8 Paul gives us hope that regardless of the thoughts, feelings, and emotions that often lead us down the wrong path and into misery, suffering, and self inflicted pain. There is hope !!! (Rom 8:37) But in all these things we more than conquer through Him who loved us.

(Rom 8:38) For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

(Rom 8:39) nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Because Jesus overcame Death, Hell, and The Grave, we as believers in him can overcome. We don’t have to be satisfied with sin, we can do better, we can overcome. When we live a lifestyle dominated by sin, when we know that God is not pleased with us. Especially when it’s that secret sin, satan lies to us telling us that nobody knows. He and his imps know and most importantly God knows. You can overcome right now this day all you have to do is admit that you are who you think you are in your flesh. You can’t fool yourself. The next thing you have to do is get fed up, you have to admit to yourself that you can and you will do better. God did not create you to be satisfied with anything but his best. God wants better and he has better for you. However it is up to you to reach out and grab it.

When you get tired of the trash that satan his been dishing out to you via your thoughts, feelings, emotions, and your actions. When you truly get tired of satan’s trash and are really ready to do something about it. Then God can and will step in. Throw out the trash in order that you can receive God’s Treasures. I’ve got to say this, some of you all are dealing or living with trash throw it out !!! God has better for you and for some, you need to make sure that you aren’t the trash yourself. If it is you, if you are your own worst enemy and the underlying cause of your problems is, your own bad or poor choices and decisions. Get fed up tell yourself enough is enough, sometimes the best and most productive argument you can have is with yourself. Tell yourself I can and I will do better Be Encouraged and Blessed Minister Mike.
http://www.8thday.us

Leave a Reply

