I Have Issues #3 (And Guess What?)

(Psalms 139:23) Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my thoughts,

(Psalms 139:24) and see if any wicked way is in me; and lead me in the way everlasting.

I have issues and guess what? You know it, so do you. One of my favorite sayings these days is attributed to the fact that often we are our own worst enemy. Most people’s response is yea I know that but. Believe me there is no but, we often times are our own worst enemy. Yes there are incidents when we are being persecuted and unjustly and really it is of no fault of our own. However let’s be real if it were not for the damage that we do to ourselves via bad decisions or associations we’d be okay. Personally and no I’m not going to make some confession, of my sorted sinful past because the Word of God convicts me just as it does you if we are guilty of one sin we are guilty of all. (Jas 2:10) For whoever shall keep the whole Law and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all. (MKJV) (Jas 2:10) If you obey every law except one, you are still guilty of breaking them all. (CEV) (Rom 3:23) for all have sinned and come short of the glory of God (MKJV)

Anyway when I was working as a promotions person / producer in the Entertainment Industry I did not take the advice of my mentor the late Dan Underwood Sr. I did not eat right nor did I take the time to do simple things that would have helped me maintain good health. I abused my body physically for about 8 years and here some 13 years later it is still banged up and needs physical care. What took me 8 years to mess up, 13 years later I’m still fighting to get my body back to normal and physically need people to help me in the process. I have no one to blame but myself.

(Mat 7:3) And why do you look on the splinter that is in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the beam that is in your own eye?

(Mat 7:4) Or how will you say to your brother, Let me pull the splinter out of your eye; and, behold, a beam is in your own eye?

(Mat 7:5) Hypocrite! First cast the beam out of your own eye, and then you shall see clearly to cast the splinter out of your brother’s eye. (MKJV)

There are some people who always blame others for their problems and never fess up to the fact that they created their own mess. They are the very ones who put the “I” in issues but never see anything but minor issues when it comes to them. If you have a history of bad choices, decisions, and associations, how do you expect things to get better unless you change. The word says that we all have sinned that means all of us. Therefore we must accept the consequences of our bad choices. I believe it was Bobby Womack or Abraham Lincoln anyway somebody said that “You can’t fool yourself”. This is so true being totally honest, you can’t fool you, because you know you if nobody else does. Then it was the Spinners who sung the song “It takes a Fool to learn that Love don’t Love Nobody”

How often in our marriages and relationships we hear people always blame the other party. It is always them. They’d be so much better off if it were not for them. It has never occurred to them that maybe the husband is not what he should be because the wife is not who she should be. People will not walk all over us unless we show ourselves as the door mat. They won’t disrespect us as long as we respect ourselves. Personally I found that to be true when I stopped respecting myself by lowering my standards people stopped respecting me. However you can get your self respect back by re-establishing your moral base and being the person God created you to be.

In today’s society self respect is often lost in the area of relationships. The Spinners were right the word Love itself actually doesn’t Love anybody. However we can totally lose it when someone says that they Love us yet there is a lack of real commitment by them to show it. People often say that they Love you when in fact what they really mean is that they Love all the perks and pleasures that come from being with you with out real commitment on their part. Listen to the words of the Spinners. I find it so funny how people talk about being in a serious or meaningful relationship but yet they are unmarried.

To be Biblically correct often times these relationships do not meet God’s standards. Sadly many women of today are modern day concubines. In the Old Testament concubines were described as wives of a lesser standing. There were men who had so many wives and so many concubines. Think of how those women must have felt not measuring up to the standard of being a wife when these men had numerous wives. As Mavis Staples and the Staple singers used to sing “If you don’t respect yourself ain’t nobody gonna give a good coo hoot Respect Yourself” Self Respect and self examination go hand in hand. When we ask God as our base scripture does to search us we don’t have time to be critical of others. We are of no help or use to anyone else as long as we are unrealistic when it comes to our own personal faults. Take some time to do some self evaluation maybe your problems start and end with you.

Be Encouraged and Blessed
http://www.8thday.us

Leave a Reply

